Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Western Pondhawks

I went back to the ponds where I saw all the algae and dragons last week.  The algae is still there but at least it doesn't seem to be spreading.  There have been reports this week of an infestation of blue green algae that is killing dogs who have been in the water.  Many ponds and lakes have been closed because of it.  Our ponds are still open so I have to assume it's safe and Piper only goes in the fast moving river but we've decided that her swimming is over for the summer.  It's just not worth the chance!  I don't know how we're going to explain it to her when we are camping at Lake Granby next week!  Anyway, there were still lots of dragons and I got this shot of the blue male and green female pondhawks "wrestling" in the algae.  I also included an extra of a well camouflaged little frog poking out his head to look around.  Wild Wednesdays (thanks Cailleach) and Happy Hump Days (thanks Laurie) seem to go hand in hand because wildlife always makes me smile. :-)

Today is Rick's birthday.  He was our camphost in Granby for the past eight years and we have spent all those birthdays with him.  Since he and Susie retired last year, they are at home in Texas this year and it's much too hot to make a trip there now.   I am grateful that we were at least able to have a nice phone conversation with him today.  We are planning to visit in October when it's cooler. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.