Kentmere Horseshoe

I don't often make the suggestion these days, but this view is definitely worth seeing large.

I was very kindly invited out to play today by the good Dr.Mackem to join him and a mutual friend J on the round of the Kentmere Horseshoe in the Lake District. It was good to do a bit of male-bonding. I've been very envious lately of the wonderful women's gatherings that have been hosted by TJ (here - and one of my favourite shots ever) and TerriG (here). I'm not sure what kind of response I'd get if I asked my mates around in their PJs for a night of poetry and story telling, or to share a swim in a pond. Once inhibitions were cast aside I'm sure we'd have a great time but I just don't think I'd get any takers - which is a great shame. I think us men miss out on quite a lot.

So today was as much about male companionship as it was about running. I've known J for a long time as our sons played in the same football and cricket teams as children, but we don't see much of each other these days, and that's a great shame. Through blip, I feel like I know Dr.M quite well, but it was good to spend time with the real person today. These are two very special people.

It would have been a fantastic day out whatever the weather, but we were rewarded with some incredible views on the ridge when the sun gifted us a few minutes of fabulous light. It didn't last long and the dramatic clouds you see here soon enveloped us so that we finished the route in thick mist and drizzle. But it didn't matter. We all dosed up on that sense of space and freedom that you only get in the hills. I feel utterly recharged, although just a little wrecked of limb. I think I'm a bit more out of condition right now that I'd realised. A few more days like this, though, and I know my usual fitness will return.

I'll probably come back later to post a link to some more photos of the day, but I want to get in before the good doctor does! We have a blip-off today and I want to put a bit of pressure on him! And thank you J for your patience as running with two blippers can be a little frustrating at times.

Later Edit: Dr.Mackem has posted a beautiful blip here, with links to a number of other wonderful photos as a record of a great day out. I've put together a little sequence here. With a bit more time to consider, I've also changed the mono conversion back to colour. It was finally impossible to resist revealing the distant sunkissed green of the valley of Hagg Gill, along which runs the old Roman Road of High Street to Troutbeck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.