POG's Journal

By POG

I may have glimpsed the tunnel

My Day:
The dreaded alarm clock again… I left the house at 06:40 and picked my mate up and drove to Newport for another bash around the track. Once finished I drove back home and am very tired, waiting for my dinner to cook.
 
Cycling:
Day 36/92


Two session again today… The first one for endurance cyclist and the second behind the Derny.


The first session I managed to drag my old body up to 30.9 MPH and the legs were spinning at 121 rpm so quite happy with that.


The second session behind the Derny I effectively did 5 intervals of 3 laps behind the derny with 12 laps rest (still at 20 MPH). I was lapping at 31.8 MPH with cadence at 124 rpm so again happy with that.


One other thing was I did get my heart rate up to 181 BPM, which I was really pleased to see. In 2005 the maximum was 183 so not far from that 14 years later.


Is the old magic coming back, sadly I don’t think so, but it was nice to think I had a glimpse of the tunnel, I most definitely can’t see the light. 


But being back in the 30+ MPH, the legs speed increasing and the heart working well was very nice indeed… I will sleep well tonight dreaming of things that could have been…
 
Photo:
The outside of Newport Velodrome.
 
More tomorrow
 
POG,,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.