Hello Baldy!

I took Sarlett to Knowsley Safari Park today - I can't remember the last time I went, and it was probably when Rach was Scarlett's age.  I think I was as excited (or possibly more) than Scarlett - she asked me 'are you really excited Nanny?'  To which I replied, yes I'm like a big kid lol!

And it didn't disappoint!  We set off on the Safari Drive and amongst many other animals we saw Rhino's, Bison, Lions, Zebras and best of all the Baboons.  You can choose weather to risk driving through the Baboon enclosure or to take the 'safe' route.  I purposefully drove here in the older car this time as I’d planned to go here, so I removed the aerial and other than that, there wasn't much else they could destroy.  

At first they didn't seem interested in us, but we watched many other cars with monkeys hanging off their rear wipers and sitting on their roofs, and then it was our turn, and we had them all over the car.  I gave Scarlett my phone to take photos, she took lots and really enjoyed it.

I'd made a picnic again which was great as she could eat as I drove and you can stop anywhere to take photos as there are at least two lanes so people can drive round you.  Obviously you need to have your doors locked and windows shut, particularly in the monkey and lion enclosures  (luckily it wasn’t a hot day as I don’t have air con in this car), but at the start of the drive I noticed the boot of the car in front of us was open!  I pulled alongside and opened the window to tell the guy, but he already knew, he said he'd got a notification on his dashboard, but said he couldn’t get out to close it.  I don't think I'd have been happily driving around like that!

We probably spent a couple of hours in the Safari Drive, and then we parked up and went on the Foot Safari.  We watched a bird of prey display which is where we saw this magnificent bald eagle.  I can't remember what she was called, but I think it was Heidi - Scarlett said it wasn't, which is why I'm doubting myself.  I'd set my camera on burst mode and actually captured her as she was setting off in flight, and am so pleased to have got this shot.  I haven't finished going through the rest of my 700 photos (yes I know!), but I'm drawn to this  - I haven't cropped it or edited it is any way, it's SOOC. 

From here, we went to watch the sea lion show and out of everything today this is the one thing I wasn't impressed with.  Well the show was good, but the sea lions only have a very small pool, whereas all the other animals practically roam free. We then went to the wolf enclosure (we only saw one) and then saw the tigers who were happily eating a rack of ribs!.  We were home by 5.30pm and despite feeling very tired, I prepared and cooked a curry for dinner - even Scarlett ate some!

Anyway, it's late and I'm off to bed, night night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.