My Parents, Looking Good!

Family business took me home on this day. There were things that needed to be done, and my husband and I went to help. I got to visit with my mom and dad, and I found them looking very well. I also got to spend some quality time with several of my siblings and my little niece.

It has been a hard summer for my family; actually, one of the worst years I can remember, to be honest. In June, my mother got very sick and was hospitalized, and spent the following month in rehab, regaining her strength. In late July, my oldest sister died. And last week, my dad had to have heart valve surgery, a thing we were all worried sick about for months in advance.

But the good news is that my mom eventually got well and came home, and my father made it through his heart surgery very well. We got to catch up on some things, and he told me that the doctor said the surgery should give my dad, age 89, another seven years or so (but he wouldn't put that in writing or give him any formal warranty to that effect!).

My parents and I had some private time where we got to talk about my sister Barb, and how we still can't believe what happened, and what a good sister she was, and how she tried to take care of the whole wide world, and how lucky we were to have her for as long as we did. And still, how much we miss her; and oh, how much it hurts!

And I cried on my mother's shoulder. But it felt good, somehow, and right; for what are families for, but to stick together when the going gets tough? And of course, on this day, I was very glad to see my parents looking so well, together again. And so I celebrate them!

For my motto is this: family first, last, best, and always . . . .

Here is a song for families and about families: Dolly Parton, with Family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.