Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Delivery

[Back blip: 17/8/19]

Twelve days later... I had uploaded this picture and was about to write a few words when I realised I was shivering again and needed to go straight to bed, so laptop lid down, and I went.

Well, I can honestly say, I have never shivered like this before!! A duvet, a doubled-up winter bedspread and my tablets, and I could not stop! In the end, it was the (boiling) hot water bottle that did it! I er, also threw up my dinner! That was the night.

The day began early. On Wednesday, we had purchased a new oak dining table and chairs, and coffee table. I was expecting to wait a minimum of two weeks for delivery but was told Monday. And not just Monday, but one of the first deliveries on Monday. We were ready by 8 am, which was just as well, as the van arrived at 8:30!

Of all days, it was pouring with rain, and one person carried the boxes in making several trips. All neatly stacked in the space we created very quickly. If only they unpacked and took the cardboard away...

G & I quickly had our breakfast and then set to making the place look as normal as possible in as short a time as possible. A bit of a tall order on a day when I was well below 100%. Long story short, we did it with a few breaks, and by lunchtime, were able to eat the first meal on the new table (see extra). That done, we then headed out to visit a couple of charity shops to see who might be interested in the old dining chairs and coffee table. No interest from anyone in Guildford. Everyone is full up.

We were supposed to pop into B&Q for a couple of things when I realised I was starting to shiver again, so G drove me straight to Shere surgery. It was around 4:30. I am not registered and didn't have an appointment, and despite standing in front of the Receptionist shivering uncontrollably, they could not help. Not even with allowing me to buy panadol from them.

Went back straight home and I felt better two hours later. We continued to work with getting the Lodge to look less like a store. The old dining table is like an island in the middle of the kitchen. G put the chairs with it. The coffee table is in the car to deal with tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.