Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Totally Unexpected

(26/8/19) Finally blipping this awful day.

I woke up feeling fine given how awful last night was. G was on the phone to Charity shops seeing if anyone was interested in our old furniture. Absolutely no joy on that front. I said to G we should try and get to a clinic to find out what's causing me to shiver so uncontrollably. The next thing I knew, she'd got a very quick appointment at Shere surgery and we had to leave almost immediately.

We got there at the time of the appointment which was too late as I had to register first. That might have been a blessing in disguise because by the time I saw the doctor, I had started to shiver again, something I wasn't expecting or had prepared for. She knew straight away it was more than they could deal with at the clinic so sent me off to Guildford Hospital with a letter. I say Guildford, but it is the Royal Surrey County Hospital.

G dropped me off and I can remember walking down an incredibly long corridor looking for the EAU. They sent me to A&E who wanted to send me back to EAU. Someone took pity and started processing me, by which time, G had parked the car and joined me.

I thought I'd be assessed and sent home in a few hours, but no, I was to be kept there overnight at least. G left to get back to the Lodge to bring me some essentials. I was started on a drip whilst my blood test results came back.

At 5 pm, I managed to eat a sandwich just before G came back - my first meal of the day! Then a doctor visited explaining what they're trying to do given what they know at the moment. I eventually got moved from A&E to the EAU to be monitored overnight. This is a completely new experience. I have never been in hospital before and never been as sick as this whilst on holiday. Gulp.

G was good. On the way back to me, she called in at the charity superstore we were in last week, and they happily took the coffee table. One down, five more pieces to go! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.