Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Clandon ward

(18/8/19)

This was the only picture I took today. Clicked very quickly to send to G so she could see where I am.

I had a tough night. More shivering. No hot water bottles in this place, so it was a case of putting lots more blankets on. At 5:30 am, a nurse asked if she could do an ECG. It's routine. It seemed a bizarre time, but hey, why not. At least they will establish my heart is in good condition!

Shortly after that, I got moved, along with everything that G had brought in for me, up to a ward. No swapping beds. I was glad to be out of the A&E observation area. The room I've been brought into is right in front of the nurses station. I hadn't eaten since 5 pm last night so was really needing something. I was told that I've got to have an ultrasound of my kidneys, and can't eat anything, and can only drink clear fluids. Wow. I can't ever remember having such hunger pangs. It put a totally new perspective on the clips I watch on TV of young children starving.

Anyway, eager to get rid of the hunger pangs, I periodically asked when my ultrasound might take place. Then around 5:30, a doctor came in to say that I'd somehow been missed out and my ultrasound is scheduled for tomorrow. I can eat up to 2 am, and then have to be on clear fluids again. I honestly could not imagine going through another day like today with the way I was feeling! C'est la vie. I can clearly see people around me in the ward in a much worse state. That really helped to keep going without complaining.

G has been amazing. We had organised for some of our Wonersh URC friends (Chris and Marian and Chris and Frank) to come to the Lodge for a cream tea today. She'd cancelled it, but at my request went ahead. I'm so pleased. The dining table and chairs have found new homes as a result. :D The Lodge is back to normal, but with new furniture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.