Seeing it Differently

I was in Norwich today so popped into the Cathedral to look at the Seeing it Differently project that runs for 11 days ending tomorrow. It's all about experiencing the Cathedral in a new way and opening up a conversation about faith. You'll probably have heard about the £2 rides on the 50ft helter skelter in the Nave, but there's also a chance to lie on the floor to look at the amazing ceiling and roof bosses; a 30 minute walking tour about the roof, a trust trail in the cloisters and a few other things. 

Now I don't have any faith, but I do love ancient buildings and was interested to find out more. I also know the project has been amazingly successful, bringing in thousands of people over it's brief duration. I'm also aware of how congregation sizes have plummeted and how these amazing buildings struggle to fund their maintenance and repair. I can also fully understand why some people find it a sacrilege. I just thought it was a great way to raise much needed funds, engage with the local community, share the beauty of the building and just potentially spark interest in the kids to find out more about the church. I've added an Extra of the full helter skelter

I was in Norwich to pick up my glasses with their new lenses. However, after trying them for 3 hours and losing the 'sweet spot' when even slightly moving my head and therefore feeling slightly nauseous, I'm convinced the varifocal lenses have been made incorrectly so I've returned them for investigation. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.