Long Day

We left home at 5.30 am and came back at 9 pm.

We spend 6 hours driving, 45 mins on a dog walk on the way home and the rest of the day at a Dog Dancing Competition in Rønde, Jutland. 

It was not a great day for us. 

It wasn't all bad:

I turned Hero's round into a training round - that was the good part of the day.

I had time to make sure Biscuit and Gollum got some attention too - that was also good. 

And I judged some lovely routines at novice and intermediate level - that was good.

But then a dog left the ring and attacked Gollum and Biscuit when they were sleeping in their puppy pen by the end of the day. I got there a few seconds after the dog and got hold of Gollum, who was still in the puppy pen. I managed to keep Gollum calm and Biscuit was too little to get out of the puppy pen even if he wanted to, so he was ok even though I couldn't get hold of him. The other dog kept trying to attack them through the bars in the puppy pen, but luckily they never came in direct contact with each other. There were fence between them at all times. After 30 - 40 secs someone came and got the other dog away. I was shaken, but tried not to show it. I fed Biscuit and Gollum treats to show them that all was ok. 

The owner of the other dog was shaken too and very upset that it had happened. She came and apologized and there are no hard feelings between us, but I wish it had never happened.I am sorry that Gollum and Biscuit was woken up by a dog attacking the pen they thought they were safe in. 

So I left the show feeling heavy hearted and sad.

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.