Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Tulip vase

Is what I reckon this is. I saw it at the Open Arms in Dirleton, East Lothian where my walking group had a lunch. I haven't walked with them since January but still reckon to be a member and hopefully will walk with them again before too much longer.

I hadn't seen this kind of vase before and it made me wonder if it was a product of the trade between East Lothian and the Netherlands. This was mainly based on coal being shipped from Scotland to the Netherlands, with the pantiles which provided ballast for the return journey being used for the distinctive roofing in East Lothian. It might be purely a coincidence - pantiles were made in this country from the 18th Century and I doubt whether there has been much direct trade between the two regions in a long time. Perhaps I will need to ask if we ever go back to the Open Arms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.