International Day...

...at the County Museum. This is the 31st annual event with food, music, dancing, singing and speeches. We go there to eat, listen to the music, watch the dancers, but most of all to meet many of our old and new friends who are also there.
I gave breakfast a miss this morning so I could nibble my way up and down the road lined with food stalls. I ate food from Afganistan, Serbia, Ethiopia, and Bosnia, finishing off with that most Swedish of drinks - coffee! I was severely tempted by food from Thailand and India but wasn't  sure I could eat any more!
As I wrote, meeting friends is an important part of the day and one of the main points of the day is meeting people from all these different countries and cultures. When you see a wild 5 year-old racing around, or a bored teenager staring into a phone, or a new parent proudly showing off their baby you really understand that we are all far more similar than we are different.
As you perhaps can tell I do love this event, and the fact that the town I live in has become home to a real mix of nationalities.
Later in the day we went home to Ruth to watch the final of the All Ireland Hurling Championship - another nationality and another culture - but HarlingDarling has blipped that.
Serendipity again - immediately after publishing my blip I read a book review (The Unsettling of Europe) in The Guardian about immigration in Europe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.