La Dranse

So as yesterday’s walking was my choice, today’s was Lauren’s and it was hydrospeeding down a section of the Dranse.
The extra is of Lauren (not my photo obs).

To put it in context, I don’t like water much (am scared of drowning even though I’m a strong swimmer) and I like the cold even less, so I wasn’t looking forward to this activity. I had to go along with it though, firstly because Lauren did my walking without complaining yesterday and secondly because I think it’s good to take on a challenge outside of our comfort zone sometimes. It’s good to know I can conquer my fears and it also helps me better empathise when I’m leading walkers or scramblers who are nervous of the terrain or conditions.

In the event, it wasn’t that bad. We had super thick protective wet suits which also kept us warm as well as softening the battering from rocks. And our instructor was very good. Once was enough though. I’ve tried it now.

It was another extremely hot day but with storms coming tonight for a few days, Peter and I took the Plenney bubble up for a light lunch with a view. I felt this view of the Dranse more fitting however, although the section through Morzine itself is clearly not deep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.