Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

More or less in the middle

This mural adorns a building in a laneway in the middle of Hunter and King Streets.  I have been doing a little googling to try and find out what it is all about.  I have managed to find out about J Mackie and Co.  It was a furniture company established by James Hood Mackie who was born in Ballarat, Vic, and saw the light and came to Newcastle in 1858.  He had a warehouse which would have been close to where this mural is.  He was said to be a very considerate employer ensuring that his business closed at the ridiculously early time of 6 o'clock. 

The mural seems to be done in a sort of film strip and I have yet to find the significance of that or of the main face in the middle or the steam trains.  Stay tuned, there will probably be another blip about it in due course.

More on James Mackie here
Photo of his store here

And you may be amused at this notice in the paper I found in my investigations which I have put up as an extra.

Thanks again to 60plus for hosting MM this month and some very interesting challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.