and through the wire...

By hesscat

Greenman19 #4

So the last day of the Greenman Festival has come and I think we all decided today was our favourite day. 

Ms H became a fan of K-Pop about a year ago... K as in South Korean. Since Gangnam Style hit the word some years ago, there's been a concerted effort to repeat the success with numerous K-Pop bands including BTS. Normally they are all Ms H ever mentions and In general I have not given my official seal of approval... I prefer artists who have worked their way up and do regular tours and play their own instruments etc. So when Ms H saw that South Korean band Say Sue Me where playing at GM she was excited... I was intrigued... GM going for mass market appeal... I don't believe it. So when we went to see them I was pleasantly surprised and they have now been official approved. They were then playing 3 songs in the GM record store so we watched them again with front row seats (top right)... Ms H got their album signed too and is planning on dragging us along to see them in Glasgow next month!

Aye anyway.... Eels were one of the bands at GM we already knew, in fact had been to see several times in the 1990s... we loved them then. We started to drift away when E's beard got bigger and he started driving tractors (his father is a world famous physicist who invented the quantum theory! There's a great documentary about him discussing his dad. Yeah, so, they were great and funny and very entertaining.. Mrs C and I decided they were our top act of the festival!

As Mrs C and Ms H went off to see Father John Misty at the mountain stage, I decided I could not miss Idles at the far out stage. We saw them first at a gig last year with Future Islands, 2 bands you would never expect at the same gig! They were amazing to watch, I couldn't miss another chance... I would express them as punk and their stage presence is just wild, but their songs are all about values similar to mine and not what you might expect. So it was indeed another wild show, I would assume they all are, the 3rd photo is them having dragged a young teenage boy up from the mosh-pit onto his shoulders as they sang him a song - what an experience! I recognised a few catchy songs and I enjoyed the gig but I have yet to put one of their songs on my playlist.

Where are we... ok, so after midnight they burn the Greenman... aw... it has to be done, plus some fireworks. While festivities continue for a few hours more, we chose to go see Phil Kay, a Scottish comedian we went to see loads in the 90s but lost track of him. Normally his shows go off on tangents and are totally random and I was a bit concerned he might have lost it a bit... but he hadn't... working off audience input then singing a 15 minute song made up on the spot. He's still a genius and had us all in stitches... really must see if he is performing back home...

Fab day, a fee tinkles and sprinkles of rain... we decided to take it a bit easier this year.. cut down the walking, not rushing about between stages. There were a good few artists we'll be exploring at home and I find this is the best way to find them. The food was fab, loads of choice and the special beer tents were appreciated, in moderation! The weather was in the main good, with sunny days or spells and the surroundings were stunning. Despite often queuing 30 minutes for a shower, I never appreciate a shower here more than anywhere else, and I guess Mrs C and Ms H appreciate that too! We've never been on holiday to the same location so many times, I am sure we will be back... we have to make it to #9!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.