Dismantling

Yesterday was a day of painting; a positive activity where you improve something and in this case prepare to build. Today was less positive as I dismantled, and in some cases destroyed, parts of that gable end on The Red House.
In the picture you can see how the balcony has become a very minimalist version of a balcony. It'll become even more minimalist before I'm through but just now I have to have something to stand on! It was here that most of the destruction took place as the railing was very rotten in places, and required very little effort to remove.
The top layer of thinner planks on the wall is removed or is held in by a nail or two. The white corner plank is just resting in place.
So today seemed more destructive than yesterday, but in reality was just as important for the finished job I suppose.
These jobs are very satisfying and enjoyable but they do leave me feeling fairly tired by the end of the day - I must be getting old!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.