Red House Renovations...

...continue today.  I removed all the boards from one side, and this is what I found. I was fairly happy because the beams are in good condition. There were a few mouse tunnels in the insulation but not so many considering how long the rockwool has been sitting there. I replaced the tunnel sections with new insulation. Finally I covered that half of the house with a windproof membrane that keeps water out but allows moisture to escape.
I'm old enough to remember when breathable waterproof membranes first appeared in outdoor clothing. They were considered very exotic, and had a price label to match. Now you can wrap your house in a similar fabric!
I finished off the day by de-nailing all the wood I'd removed and generally clearing up the space so tomorrow I can start putting up the new planks.
We also bought a second-hand door seen in an ad on the internet, and we'll pick it up tomorrow. It could be replacing that lower window and the section of wall under it, as part of a longer-term development plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.