Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

The benefit of the doubt

Yesterday, witnessing vast clouds of pigeons circling the skies above my apartment, I was in no doubt whatsoever that the bulk of the colony had been evicted from the loft, but a nagging doubt remained that the ethnic cleansing had not been 100% and that perhaps there might be a few entrapped prisoners.

This evening I became more convinced that that was indeed the case, and so I braved moving some furniture around a bit so that I could see for myself. Sure enough, a few birds are now imprisoned in the loft above my bed while the vast majority of their clan wait hopefully outside their prison.

I have heard no news from the goblins entrusted with this task.
As is my wont, I have put myself into the shoes of the goblins.

Let's imagine that they have realised that the parasite-infested guano might take longer to remove than anticipated, and that they are fully aware that the moment those parasites are faced with starvation they will begin to burrow down through the ceiling into my living quarters.

Perhaps, therefore, the few birds remaining in the loft are for sacrificial purposes. While they are imprisoned there without access to food or water, the wiggly bloodsuckers will take a greater interest in them than in me, and perhaps that might allow the goblins the chance to enjoy a happy bank holiday weekend with their families.

Of course this is only surmise. Nobody has bothered to feed me with information.
Naturally enough, in the face of information starvation, I have provided feedback. As I am wont.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.