Pictorial blethers

By blethers

More busyness ...

It seems a feature of retired life - or increasing age - that doing a specific thing in a day constitutes a whole day's work. Today's specific was a trip over the water to get my hair done; to be sure it involves a car to the ferry terminal (because I don't trust the boats that use the town pier), the ferry crossing (20 minutes over much rougher sea coming home) and a bus journey from the other ferry terminal to Greenock, all twice. It took me the best part of four hours, and I was damp and cold when I got home. I've used a photo of Hunter's Quay as my extra, taken from the deck of my outward ferry as it left.

Spent the rest of the afternoon on the computer. I've registered for the Edinburgh Kilt Walk (just the short stroll one of 6 miles) in support of my grandsons' new football club, Spartans, and the mere registration was quite a fiddle. Then I updated the tour page of Voskresenije, the Russian ensemble whose publicity in this country I took on some years ago, and did a couple of Sudoku puzzles online, and spent half an hour on the phone to our tenor. And that was it - the afternoon was over, the rain had battered down non-stop, the sea had grown really grey and gurly, and I'd had only half the exercise I normally consider imperative.

I know I waste too much time out walking, but ... but ... My photo is of the moment at the end of dinner when I realised that the rain had stopped and the sun was having a last shine over the wet gardens. You can see we'd lit the candles against the gloom at the start of our meal, and now they look quite redundant. 

Perhaps tomorrow I shall feel less redundant myself ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.