Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Spray and cold wet numb bums

I could see enormous waves breaking over the breakwall from my window at work and rushed there as soon as I had finished. I snapped the sunset on the way down which was just as well because the light was fading, I had ridiculous ISO on further down and while I did see bigger wave smashes than I have ever seen there before, I didn't manage to catch one to my satisfaction. 

I was using the telephoto and standing well back from the action but was a bit down the breakwall to avoid being sandblasted which was happening  at the end near the beach and consequently when there was a change in the swell me and two other togs got hit by a wave.  I saw it coming too late but turned my back to it and as have a waterproof camera bag all the camera gear is fine but I was completely drenched at the back.   What with the hoolie that is blowing I reckon my bum was completely numb by the time I got back to the car.  I will never learn will I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.