Wow

Wasn't expecting this in the post today although back in May 2018 when I collected my German Citizenship Certificate in a mini 1:1 ceremony held by the head of "The Department for Foreigners", I was told it was a possibility I may be one of the selected "New Citizens" to be invited to a special ceremony in Munich held by the Bavarian Government.

To save me the trouble of writing it all again here is what I posted on Twitter with all the weird format and writing style that includes.
_________________________________________________________________________

Proud as Punch to have just received an invitation to the #Bavarian "New Citizens Reception" #neubürgerempfang in October at the #Residenz #Muenchen from @BayStMI Home Office Minister Joachim Herrmann & with Bavarian President @Markus_Soeder 


This was the event held in Nuremberg in the summer for new north Bavarian citizens.


The southern Bavarian reception is held in the wonderful 17th Century Imperial Hall of the 'Residence', the seat of the Dukes then Electors and finally Kings of Bavaria until the monarchy was dissolved in 1918 after they "mislead" the folk into WWI



With pride, will do my best to represent my birth country that 1st gave me protection, #TrinidadandTobago. Also the UK, the country that I had always considered to be "my country" until 28th March 2017: 'Revoke Art50 day -1' when I went to local county council & started the process.


Went to offices with only my UK passport. Dept for Foreigners was closed but the head, hearing of my anxiety to get in the application before Art50 letter hit Brussels, took time to get me registered. Try that with a civil service in Germany or the UK!
I shed tears of sorrow that day



My thanks to #Germany, #AngelaMerkel for her ceaseless attempts to keep #UK in #EU, to #BavarianGovt & my local council #Unterallgäu for their support but above all the wonderful people of #Bayern for your friendship & support over last 30 years & continued friendship for the UK.



And if anyone thinks this is fake with a surfboarder pictured on the invitation card, you need to know Munich has excellent guaranteed 24/7 surfing facilities & Bavaria even has a lighthouse!
 
Those not on Twitter will not appreciate how much work it is to write one sentence normally.
PS The embedded links have had to be changed to show on Blip as the formatting system is different. I have no idea what Blip will do with all the hashtags #.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.