DrSandy

By DrSandy

Pruning leftovers

Mom is in the midst of "pruning" , what is left of the roses.

They have not weathered the impact of climate change well.  Right now, the rush is on, to snip them, since summer is already HERE.  It's getting to the point, if it is not done, NOW, it will be TOO LATE.

This bunch was sitting on the counter, when I arrived home on Saturday.  I'm blipping them today.......... because I am STILL in Springs.

Officially I'm not in Springs to run errands for Mom.

But guess what..................... I did, with a little drama thrown in for good measure. 

Officially I am here, because I gave the skin workshop to the Craft ladies in Brakpan. The extra shows a  view of their heads. 

The errands.........centered around  "beautifying" Mom.

She was dropped  off at the dentist, by Bapps.  I was supposed to pick her up , on the way back from Brakpan and take her to the hair dresser. It had all been carefully timed...

Okay, not carefully, I packed myself up, in a jiffy, to make sure, I was at the dentist, so she got to the hair dresser on time.

I got to the dentist - she wasn't there.

She walked it. 

It amounted to about 5 blocks, through the out skirts of Springs town proper.

I really didn't want her to, but she did it anyway.

I think she was thrilled, it gave her a sense of achievement and independence.  Things that are SO IMPORTANT. 

BUT.................

I was sure she was a sitting walking duck.  An old lady, walking  past "skommie" houses, in the middle of the day.  It's A RISK !

Clearly NOTHING HAPPENED.

I know treating her like a child is counter productive.  But this is South Africa and she is 87 and a half years old.

In the afternoon, I did head back home, stopping off at the gym for STEP.   Ouch !  It was seriously hard going. I think wearing the high heals, created some muscle tension in the calves, so hammy curls etc.  felt like torture.

So I took the evening off..... to catch up on my PUBMED annals.

PS.  There was 1 drawing from Tracey, with a promise of the rest coming soon - so taking the evening off, was a no brain-er.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.