DonnaWanna

By DonnaWanna

Mystery Plant.

About 10 years ago I bought a potted plant from a garage sale. Can't even remember what it was now, but it did have a passenger plant riding along with it.

The passenger plant eventually took over the original plant and grew tall and strong. A while later I was at another garage sale and saw another plant very much like the passenger plant but with just a slightly different shape of leaf, it was lovely so I bought that too and it also grew big and strong.

Eventually, because of the type of plants they are these two plants have popped up in just about every pot in my garden!

They produce new plants on the edges of their leaves. These drop off and get blown around and land on some soil and start growing big and strong.

For a while I let them have one pot of their own, but that was a mistake. They multiplied like crazy and all grew tall and strong right up to the roof, they were magnificent, for a while...but they dropped millions of babies and before I knew it I was overrun with these things.

In recent times I've been pulling up the new shoots whenever I see them, because they will kill whatever is in the pot eventually, I never manage to get them all.

While I was away, this one came out of its quiet hiding place right where I could see it. They really are quite beautiful, but deadly if they decide to be a passenger.

I'm hoping someone might know the name of them so that I can at least stop calling them the passenger plants (or since I've been watching Dexter - my dark passenger plants :) anyone have any clues?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.