MikeWest

By MikeWest

Cataloguing

I feel sometimes I may have fallen into a trap of taking shots of wildflowers in the meadow simply for the purpose of recording them. Photographing them led me to find out what they are called and a bit about them and as far as increasing my awareness of my surroundings by looking more, I think that's a good thing.

I have to remind myself though that my purpose is to improve my photography and to see past the subject as it is, to consider shapes and colours and textures, relationships and light. And perhaps the story to be told, if there is one.

In any case, I have been trying to catch this delicate blue flower at its peak, but the flowers only seem to emerge at one place on the spike and so are a bit underwhelming. Nevertheless the colour is striking and I framed my shot against yellow for maximum contrast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.