CPFCDougal

By CPFCDoug

Wine Route Tour Day 2 - A Champagne Super Nova!

Day 2 in Epernay, and it’s ALL about the Champagne!! After a late breakfast of cheese, meat, pastries and a bit of token melon, we went the sum total of 50 yards to the Boisel Champagne House and did the Cellar Tour. The Tour Guide was superb, very knowledgeable and patient with excellent English.
Things I never knew about Champagne... 1) I’m not a fan of the more expensive “complex” wines. They are simply too complex (=not as pleasant) for my unsophisticated palate. I guess this should not be a surprise as my primary quality measures for food and drink are “Gross Weight” and “Quaffability” so anything requiring sipping and savouring is going to fox me. 2) “Moët” is correctly pronounced “Mow Ett”. With a hard “T” sounded at the end. As much as I felt ignorant learning this I will not be adopting my newly-learned pronunciation around the streets of South London as I will sound like the biggest dope ever. 3) Champagne Producers are properly up themselves. I’m sure this comes with the whole exclusivity thing but really... there is more wine in the world than Champagne. 4) 1967 was NOT a vintage year. This doesn’t seem plausible to me and reinforces my view that Champagne producers are not in touch with the real world. From a personal perspective I’d say 1967 was a classic year!! And finally 5) Champagne Flutes are so 20th Century! Apparently the ideal shape for a Champagne glass is like a small wine glass with a wideish bowl but narrow aperture. If it uploads OK, see the picture. They’re very nice to drink from.
Anyway, after a long trudge round Epernay including a trip up the tower at the Castellane House to be treated to some very dull views of Epernay (really... L’Avenue de Champagne is IT) we went for a very pleasant Moroccan meal with hearty meat, vegetables in a spicy broth and couscous washed down with some extremely quaffable beer.
Don’t get me wrong - I LIKE champagne and the visit was very nice. I just don’t LOVE Champagne. Tomorrow... Strasbourg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.