... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Kew Gardens: Art Glass Imitating Glasshouse Life

More and less living in large.
I've uploaded extras showing the range of settings, scales, shapes, and colours, and have linked to the Flickr versions below the link to full Flickr album.

My mother and I went to Kew Gardens to see 'Chihuly: Reflections on nature'. I am a fan of his work, and some of the pieces (old and new) were amazing, looking particularly fine set amongst the plants and spaces of the gardens, but I must admit that seeing so many of his pieces in one go left me running out of steam and finding them more and more same-y.
Fortunately, one of the last installations that we encountered was 'Ethereal White Persian Pond' with Chihuly persian leaves set amongst the (natural) water lilies, and it was simply breathtaking.
We'd abandoned a planned visit the previous week (on account of rain), and I'm very glad to have been able to see it in the sunshine as the play of light on and through the glass brought them to life, and set them off against the surrounding (actually living) life...

I've uploaded an album showing almost all of the exhibits here.
Extras:
Niijima Floats
Chartreuse Hornet Polyvitro Chandelier
Temperate House Persians
Green Hornets and Gold Waterdrops
Yellow Herons and Reeds
Cattails and Copper Birch Reeds
Neodymium Reeds and Turquoise Martins
Scarlet and Yellow Icicle Tower (with people and plane)
Ethereal White Persian Pond: with flowers and in sunshine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.