CPFCDougal

By CPFCDoug

Wine Tour Day 4 - Strasbourg Day 2 - Dawn Patrol!

Day Two in Strasbourg and an early start for some (me).
Leaving my beloved Mrs H snoring I set off into the Old Town to try to capture some of the much-vaunted “Golden Hour” effect. New to this atmospheric lighting malarkey I confess I didn’t really know what I was looking for and groaned when I walked out into a fairly heavy morning mist. However, given I am currently bumbling about with just an IPhone I am surprised at the effectiveness of some of the shots. I thank my Photo Buddy @Frazersfotos on this site for the advice - not just on dragging my sorry behind out of bed but on a range of really handy things and great patience with my child-like enquiries.
So, a couple of hours, a few lucky shots and a stack of highly disposable garbage later I returned to proffer tea to the Missus, who was just coming to, and we began the day.
Strasbourg remains one of my favourite places I’ve visited to date - but I will admit it does start to get a little “same same” after a whole day criss-crossing the main island. We had already decided to wave our fond and misty-eyed farewells to the European Parliament on “checking out day” (tomorrow) reasoning that if I did bump into Nigel Farage and be unable to resist kicking him in the cahunas it would be as well to be leaving town soon afterwards. So more of the Old Town today.
We began with La Petite France. Why known as such I am not sure. I guess it may be the most full-on quaint part of the very quaint town but it certainly attracted the tourists in their droves!! Moving more centrally we stopped for lunch at a simple bistro and had the Tarte Flambee which was really good and didn’t need the extra “cheese on cheese” toppings I selected - but did not suffer for it either. Some more aimless general mooching and meandering and we ended up back at the hotel, via, I think, every single road you can walk down on the isle.
More shots taken of cool buildings, quaint buildings and more of the cathedral along the way (you just CANNOT get it all in shot with an iPhone!!) Grrr!
A quick snooze and freshen up later and we were off to a very traditional restaurant for Jambonneau Royale for two. I mentioned yesterday this is essentially a stewed pork knuckle in sauerkraut. Around 90 minutes and a veritable mountain of meat later we tottered onto the street groaning and straining at the waistband, senses dulled and sleep calling, like a pair of heavily medicated inmates waiting to be propelled into our cells and tipped into our bunks for the night. Like I said - not for the faint of heart. As if I needed it, I insisted on an ice cream. Me and Ice cream have a difficult, some say “abusive” relationship and I was not to be denied. So in the process of seeking an Ice Cream vendor we instead stumbled across a 150 person street salsa session with all manner of cool (and some not so cool) people gyrating the night away and generally having an excellent time - right in one of the Town squares. There seemed to be no rules as to who could join in or drop out, people just “flowed”. I confess I wasn’t expecting that!
So happy and bloated and dirty great ice cream clutched tightly in my child-like mitt we finally retired to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.