A day in the life

By Shelling

After the concert

I didn't have the flow this time. On the Monday I woke up with barbed wire down my throat, I really had a cold. The rest of the week my cold has behaved according to plan, throat problems and sneezes and snotstreams. And today, on concert day, a fever. Earlier in the week I was also diagnosed with grass allergy that makes my eyes swollen and runny, making it hard to read. But, enough of self pity. 

I have managed to practice well enough to feel prepared for this evenings concert, which went fine, apart from some glitches here and there and words difficult to read while playing and a very deep voice that sometimes couldn't really hit the high notes but the spirit was there and the audience was happy. So was I.

Three other people were reading poems and a writer of a detective story read a chapter from her newly published book. I liked all of it and the evening turned out to be something extraordinary. Thirty five people in the audience, quiet and focused on every word making the evening really special. 

When I got home at eleven o clock it was still very mild, about nineteen degrees, so I could sit on my porch with a glass of whisky and look at the fabulous starry night above. Such a great finish to a great evening and working period. September is all blank in my calendar so far but I'm working on some ideas for future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.