DrSandy

By DrSandy

Home at last

"We" made it home......

As expected, the car did not start, although I optimistically started my Saturday, like any other Saturday i.e. I dressed for gym and packed for Springs.

I flagged down the first car that stirred in the complex.

It was a oldish Chinese lady, who could not speak much english.  She did help. So I was on my way, by 7.30 am.

On my way to where ?

I decided to go to the battery place, to confirm, that I had an alternator problem.  Which one ?  I contemplated the Greenstone branch, then changed my mind, and decided to head for the Springs one.

Did have to shoot up a prayer, that I had enough petrol to get there.

I would have filled up with petrol en route.  But, since stopping the car, was clearly not an option, I just set off.

The Springs Battery Centre confirmed it was NOT THE BATTERY.   And then "helped" me, get a little petrol. It turned out, there was a garage right next door, and their jumper lead system, is semi-mobile.

At this stage, I also had very little money, since stopping at the ATM, had also NOT been an option.  Took the purse to zero, literally.  Put in a whopping R150 worth of petrol.



I arrived at the  house, just after 9 am, reversed up the drive and that was that.

I am grateful to be home.  

NOTE :  Being STUCK, was great for reading........ it is ages since I have actually been able to read journals ALL of Saturday.  Enjoyed it, tremendously.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.