DrSandy

By DrSandy

Pinking at home

I got up at the usual time, hopped in the car......... turned the key.

NO, it did start.  JUST !  

So, I went to gym. Slightly against my better judgement, but "I have a brand new battery".  The chug must have been my imagination.

Of course, I knew it wasn't.

The gym programme was a modified schedule, because of the public holiday (Women's Day).  There was  no STEP, but since zumba was on the menu, NO WORRIES.

Actually I WORRIED, the entire time.  Didn't enjoy the gym, at all. 

I had parked the car, strategically......... so jump starting, would be relatively easy.  Of course, I would have to find someone to do it.  Eish !

Good news !

It did start.  Barely.........but it did start.

I knew I was in trouble.  BIG TROUBLE.

Since driving to the battery centre, was NOT an OPTION - they would be closed, because of the public holiday........... I drove home.

I contemplated leaving the car running, whilst I "packed" for Springs.

Heading for Springs, seemed like the logical thing to do, because........ I was clearly NOT having a battery problem.  I was having an alternator problem. And the alternator guy (Freddie) was IN SPRINGS.

I did try phone him.  No answer. 

I can't say I was surprised, after all, it's a public holiday.

Maybe it was my imagination ?

I turned the car off and went inside.  More is nog 'n dag. At least, being in Edenvale, I would have access to the internet.


I did have a productive day.



Not such a PRODUCTIVE night i.e. I worried ALL NIGHT, about how I was going to get to Springs, what would I do when I go there and how the hell "we" would start the car.   In by  gone days, Mom's car would have done jump starting duty.  Now, thanks to the hijack - there is NO CAR.   Eish !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.