Hibiscus…

…underneath the Ceanothus tree

Up until Thursday, the Ceanothus was alive with the chattering of my cheeky sparrow flock. But since then there’s been no sign of them, or any other birds, and I’m very worried.

Thursday morning our lawns received their quarterly lawn treatment (fertiliser and weed killer), which comes in a tiny pellet form. When I returned from the shops later that morning, the lawn was alive with sparrows, starlings and Robbie the Robin, pecking at the granules as they do look like small seeds. When I realised what they were doing, I shooed them away. But since then we have had no birds in the garden. I’ve been unable to find any information on the company’s website as to whether the products they use are safe for wildlife, except for someone else expressing the same concerns as myself. I am very worried…

(I shall be visiting friends for the next few days but will do my best to keep up with blip. Sorry for getting behind with journals, it's 27 degrees and I'm frazzled and I haven't finished packing.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.