Two Eras

A Stearman takes off at Little Gransden, photographed past a lovely P-51 "Miss Helen", waiting to start its gorgeous engine.

It was even better than the steam engine of a couple of weeks ago, hearing the massive  Merlin, Packard-Merlin or whatever it was, at full power for takeoff.  It's a thrilling sound!  I know that that's not very umweltfreundlich (mea culpa) but that much power concentrated in a small space threatens to burst my heart.

And I was hard-pressed to ignore any of the other shots, so I chose a much-cropped shot of the same Mustang.

I was disappointed to have to crop so much: the display is now higher and further from the crowd than before Shoreham.  That accident was nothing to do with proximity to the airfield's crowds, but poor flying by the pilot in a lax regulatory system.  The CAA has much to do to mend its ways with display flying authorisation, in my view.

But it is as it is; I'll just have to save for a longer zoom :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.