Haute Route Highlights D8

Randa to the Europaweg to Randa.... Via a certain bridge
9km,920m ascent, coffee, 920m descent. 3hrs

I know I said "the end" yesterday, and it was for the clients. But I've had an inkling all week that I'd have to go visit this modern wonder of the Alps, it opened the year I had my operation, it seems fitting in oh so many ways.
I was up early and on the first train out, then off at Randa and what can only be described as a brutal ascent. Well at the pace I did it anyway.
But what a reward... The longest pedestrian suspension bridge in the world all to myself. 494m long and simply spectacular (there's a video on Instagram). Feeling good I headed up to the Europahutte (in extra) for a great coffee, a quick chat with the guardian and then an even steeper descent. Back into Zermatt and on the first of six trains home to StG by lunch.

Philosophy Friday
I know, I know, but there wasn't one this week. This is part of a larger post elsewhere, but it feels right (maybe indulgent) for it to be here:

I'm writing this on the train back from Zermatt. I've just finished guiding a Haute Route, my fourth trek of the season. I've felt a barrage of emotions, but physically I've felt strong, stronger than I have for years. This morning I could have had a lie in, done the tourist gig, but instead I hit the trail early, because, well, I can now.
I half ran (I'm using that word v-e-r-y loosely) 9km, nearly 900m of 1:4 ascent , coffee at the Europahutte, then 900m of even steeper descent. 3hours 3mins. There were moments of pain, but they were mixed in with moments of gratitude, wonder, beauty and joy. Any pain in my ankle was no worse than the ache in my thighs, the burn in my calfs. It was a tiny part of the whole. The pain no longer owns or controls the day. I'm in charge again and it feels great.

I guarantee its not the end. Life is full of new beginnings.
I'm certain change can be a positive. There's always a way.
I promise it can get better. I know because it did.
But... it starts with you. Be positive, be better, begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.