Experiential Learning

We changed the days around to allow steep ground the best chance of being in the dry.
But of course that moved river crossings to today.
And wow has it rained.

Probably some of the toughest conditions I've let trainees go into the water in, but we wouldn't have done it unless we knew, and I mean knew, we could manage the consequences.

It infuriates both me and C that this aspect of the syllabus has been dumbed down, many providers don't cover it. And yet. It's where all of the UK's worst incidents have occurred, its the most dangerous variable we work with.

First to go in were the younger, possibly smaller, group of six. You could tell they were nervous, the river was wild and this was new to them. And to be honest we were nervous. Their parents were in group two, we have a duty of care, consequence was literally rushing past at a rate knots.
But.
I promise you it doesn't matter how big, strong or confident you are, this is a team endeavour. And the 'youngsters' nailed it. From the first step out into the waters they followed the brief. Number 2&3 supported their number 1 who was bravely taking a battering from the waters. 4-6 kept up the communication, held their line. Out they went as far we allowed, back they came. Probably only ten minutes in the water, but they definitely came back older and wiser.
I was alert and paying attention... But, it wasn't until the bigger stronger adults got in the water that I handed my phone and keys to one of the others and really started to think I might be about to go for a swim....
Fortunately the water knocked them into shape, and they made it out and back, even smiling.

Still, if push came to shove... I think I'd go with the youngsters ;-)

Train as hard as you can to making passing as easy as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.