The last leg

So, the final leg, and we decide we’ll cycle it despite the 27ºC heat. Coast to coast - only 43km and google says 2 hours 17 mins. Clearly they have it wrong - it takes us most of the day. It must have been the wrong turnings, which weren’t infrequent. 
So, that’s the end of a very enjoyable week’s cycling. The seventh annual outing for the old lags. 

And a chance to catch up on some reading, including this from David Hepworth about 1969 (though it could have been about any year): 
Thanks to posterity and the media, the shipwrecks and seamarks of 1969 seem to live even more in the collective memory of people who weren’t then alive. They may not have been there, but they have read the books, watched the documentaries and probably have a far more extensive selection of souvenir t-shirts than any of the survivors.

For those of us who were around it’s often difficult to distinguish between what we remember and what we have learned to remember. 

I thought that was worth recording - I became a teenager that year, but for all the momentous occurrences: Woodstock, Abbey Road, Altamont, the Manson Murders etc etc it’s only the landing on the moon I really recall, and if you were to ask me what I remember it’s a magazine I had called Moonslaught complete with a futuristic typeface. I do recall them walking about on the fuzzy TV pictures - like ghostly images, you could see through them. But the first steps.. not at all. I remember it all now though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.