TMac

By TMac

Escape

A calm end to a hectic day.

University Open Day with 2nd son. A lovely sunny day in Dundee. Lots to get around.
I had parked my car across the river, so left son with friends in the afternoon and caught a train to collect it.

Drove home and spent an hour in the heat taking boxes, bags, kitchen items, bedding, pictures, guitars and a keyboard to the car and attempting to fit it all in. I was a hot, sweaty, stressed mess by the end.

Then I drove through the early rush hour traffic to Edinburgh to deposit the car contents with elder son. Thank goodness his flatmates arrived after a short time. Between the four of us, we unloaded the car much quicker than it took to pack it.

I took the boys for pizzas and beers after as I needed an excuse to avoid the traffic leaving the city (non-alcoholic beer for me).
What an adventure. I was quietly emotional watching their excitement as they talked about their first flat. So proud and happy to see them find their way in the world.

Back on the road again, a quick pop in home for a comfort break then back on the road to collect daughter from orchestra.

I stopped for some breathing space to enjoy the sunset.
I needed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.