Hickory Horned .....

..... Devil.

Despite their name these caterpillars are quite gentle .... according to Mother Nature Network!

But before I get into the finding of this behemoth I will tell you about our day.

After lunch we decided to go back to the Woodland Hills Preserve that we visited a while ago .... it was some time this Spring.  We were hoping to see some birds and such .... but didn't see too many birds.  However, we did see lots of butterflies of all varieties.  That was so lovely to see. 

Nearby the preserve is the Lutz Franklin School. This is a historic one-room school building that was built in 1880. It was used as a school until 1958 and then restored from 2004 to 2006 to house the Lower Saucon Township Historical Society Museum. 


It was there that I stumbled upon this huuuuuge caterpillar!  I have never in my 56 years on this planet seen such a thing!  Of course, I didn't know what it was until I Googled it! Richard bravely put his finger near the caterpillar so you can see the size of it.  According to the website linked above these cats are very gentle so we needn't have worried.  But it does look rather frightening, doesn't it?!?  They can grow up to size of a hot dog!


We spent the rest of the just relaxing at home.


Backblipped: August 27, 2019

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.