Tiny Tuesday ....

... mystery macro.

This isn't exactly a mystery unless you are unfamiliar with a Monarch butterfly chrysalis.  This is our third monarch cat to reach this stage. After eating their fill for 8-10 days the cats will go on a walkabout ... whether in the wild or in an enclosure such as this.  

During this walkabout they select a good place in which to pupate.  They first make a silk pad that will support the chrysalis then go into the J-hook position that you see here... hanging from their end feet.  This is done the night before they pupate.  This lovely cat j-hooked last night and is ready to pupate any time now.  I brought my coffee down to the sunroom in order to try to catch the transformation but it wasn't done by the time I was finished with my coffee.  And by the time I was done with my shower the deed was already done ... we now have chrysalis number three. 

Thanks to osuzanna for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.