Kipsie

By Kipsie

You little cutie ...

snuggled in on one of the largest plant leaves in the entire garden, minding your own business, when along come Mum & I.  After overnight rain, the skies were brightening, so I rang Mum & asked if she fancied a trip out over the moors to The Garden House at Buckland Monachorum. A little birthday trip for me :) A quick nip into the Dartmoor Info Centre at Princetown to confirm I was heading in the right direction after Mum querying it, not sure why I take any notice of what she says when it comes to directions as she has absolutely no sense of direction whatsoever, we head on towards Yelverton, then The Garden House. The gardens looked fabulous as ever although possibly a couple of weeks past their best for the herbaceous borders, what was flowering looked amazing, the Walled Garden the piece de resistance. Through the arched doorway we came into the arboretum which I'd not visited before. After all the full on colour & form it was lovely to just wander by the small lake which was where I spotted this tiny snail. There was plenty of wildlife activity throughout the whole garden, bees, butterflies, bugs, & spiders, the dragons & damsels just out of reach with my little Panasonic. Plenty of subject matter for Tiny Tuesday.

After 3 hours of wandering around the gardens at a snail's pace, we rewarded ourselves with a wedge of warm chocolate brownie & clotted cream in the cafe before heading for the plant sales area. The plants were not that great a quality, & expensive, but I had to buy a plant for the garden, then a tall magenta pink salvia caught my eye. A perfect colour for my "hot" border. Sold!

Drove back to CK, I took Mum's dog, Indie, for a walk up onto the heath, then we jumped back in the car, drove to Chudleigh, met hubby & had dinner in The Bishop Lacy.

Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.