Homemade with manmade

Just a little something I threw together while waiting for the weather to improve earlier.. a Teign estuary gathering, circa 2019. I misread the brief. Typical me!!
An early visit to the allotment, via CK to pick up a builders bag of grass cuttings for my compost bins. Wow! The heat & steam coming out of them as I shared them in my bins was incredible. That should give the bins a proper boost. The only veg I harvested, some whole baby sweetcorn. I picked some more plums, these were for Jorgiesmum, I'll drop them over tomorrow morning. I staked a couple of the tomato plants then the heavens opened. I dropped the builders bag back to CK, picked up the newspaper and headed home. Birthday breakfast with hubby, homegrown fried  tomatoes on homemade, toasted, bread ...Tut!!  If only I'd read the brief correctly. To be honest with you they were the  Italian tomato variety 'Roma' I've grown. Hubby was right when he said they did'nt taste the same. These are for sauces, or drying for later use. Fingers crossed the many trusses of toms up on the plot ripen as they would be ideal for frying.
We did a tour in the rain .... not my idea. Back home soggy around the edges. Lunch then the skies brightened. Glorious blue skies .. who'd have thought it. A couple of jobs in the garden, then a faff with a bag of bounty bound for a makeover.
Time to make dinner ... ham, bean & veggie soup with crusty bread.
Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.