The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Tewkesbury Abbey

Nice bit of barrel vaulting!

I went to Tewkesbury with Dave, on the buses via Cheltenham. We explored the Abbey, which I love, then took a short boat trip up the back of Avon (the river). After having lunch in Melanie's, a delightful cafe, we caught the bus to Gloucester.

I needed to do some research in Gloucester, and we visited the cathedral too, which had a huge Chartres-style labyrinth laid out on the floor. I walked it. Dave didn't.

Then we had tea and gelato (!) In a cafe in Westgate Street, and went home on separate buses from the new bus station, I mean transport hub.

Good value was had from my all-day bud pass! I still prefer Tewkesbury Abbey to Gloucester Cathedral. More daylight. Perhaps we could take in Worcester or Hereford cathedral as well, another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.