The Next Chapter!

By carol_dunham

The Names Bond...

...James Bond!

A trip up the Schilthorn today by various trains and cable cars...at 2970m high the altitude sickness got me but I still enjoyed the views. Best known for the scenes in On Her Majesty’s Secret Service it is somewhat of a tourist trap but the views were good....and the toilets were very novel! See extra 2

At the cable car station below The Schilthorn they had a Sky Walk which our companions walked but I didn’t have enough oxygen to get down and up the steps to it! I did stand on the metal grid viewpoint above it though to take my main blip of the Eiger, the Monch and Jungfrau peaks. It was 12 degrees cooler at the top but still a beautiful day.

A picnic lunch in Mürren on our way down in glorious sunshine before heading back to Interlaken...on a train which broke down halfway there...we’re going to complain that only 50% of the trains we used ran on time :)

Extra collage includes our travelling companions, my hand in George Lazonby‘s hand print and some of the views encountered on our travels. It’s over 40 years since I was last in this area and the sleepy little villages have grown exponentially in that time...gone was the little old cog railway (although some of the tracks were still there)...in its place a modern cable car. It was lovely to see it all again especially in glorious sunshine!

I’ll catch up with your comments in due course...there just aren’t enough hours in the day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.