Sailing barge Greta at Whitstable Harbour

Tuesday’s showed a couple of Thames barges a little worse for wear, today we have Greta, a restored barge which provides sailing trips out into the Thames Estuary. As I leaned over to have a look it seemed to me that there was some sort of ritual happening here. All lined us and a bit of bowing going on! Purely co-incidental I'm sure.

We were in Whitstable to visit a friend from my days a deputy head at Woodlands over 25 years ago. She was the school secretary and has become a friend over the years which has been maintained the last 20 years since I left. We learned that Lynda had suffered a number of minor strokes this year so this was an opportunity to go and visit her and her husband so see how she was.

She was a little subdued at first, then became help old self as time passed. We stayed much longer than we planned as we didn't want to tire her. I think they both enjoyed our visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.