Arachne

By Arachne

Pavilion

I was looking forward to seeing the Dulwich Picture Gallery pavilion today, especially with the huge added bonus of sunshine. But somehow I managed to set off without my camera (because I wasn't allowed to have it with me yesterday?). How stupid.

I almost always use a telephoto lens, largely because it helps to flatten my images when I'm trying to do abstracts, but I was forced to readjust and use the very wide angle lens of my phone. An interesting exercise in seeing differently. I suppose it's good to be frustrated from time to time.

Another take on the pavilion here.

The Modernist British Printmaking exhibition at the gallery was just as good as I'd been told, with some fabulous semi-abstract images. It made me want to have a go at lino cuts myself. 

And an exquisite eight-metre-long gold and black crocodile cut entirely from one sheet of paper by Japanese paper-cut artist, Nahoko Kojima. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.