snailspace

By snailspace

Let's go cycling

Mr L picked up our new bikes yesterday and today I set up the connection with my phone and he unfolded the bikes and we went off and did a quick 10 km. We tried the bikes on and off road and they coped well enough with the chemins, both grassed and gravelled surfaces.

Some of the roads were uncomfortable and I certainly knew about it when I hit a pothole at 22.5 kph.

The grass surface at the Saint-Rèmy Plan d'Eau caused the old nether regions some discomfort too so after taking this photo I pushed the bike back to the road!

Some scoff at e-bikes but my hope is that electrical assistance can get me past my knee troubles and let me get out and about again, whereas I can't use a normal bike without considerable pain. Actually, I can't ride an ordinary bike on even a slight incline these days.

Anyway, these bikes are set up at the moment to require significant input from the rider! I like that as a matter of principle but I need to tweak my settings such that less strain is placed on my knee on the uphill stretches. It might take a while but between optimisation of the settings and a bit of strengthening exercise, I should be good to go before too long

Looking forward to exploring some of Italy by bike. Not entirely sure I can brave the Italian drivers in Modena though and cycle to my lunch. I think we shall call a taxi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.