MikeWest

By MikeWest

Central To The Composition

I find this type of plant difficult to capture because, if I try to get the whole stem in the frame, the petals, which are the most interesting part, look insignificant. I have tried photographing them with multiple stems and in combination with other flowers, but this close up perspective works best for me. Also, it rained today and water droplets on the petals added to the interest.

Consequently, I put my main subject front and centre in the composition, especially since I didn't include a related element in the image.

To get all the petals sharp, I focused stacked 4 images with the auto function in PS. I reduced the saturation and brightness of the yellow flowers behind, because they otherwise detracted from the main subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.