MikeWest

By MikeWest

Lifecycle

I'm not quite sure where my fascination with decaying things comes from, but I've noticed before I have a tendency to be drawn to them. Something to do with texture and details and earthy colours - maybe. Perhaps the same things that draw people to dereliction?

After the bottlebrush blooms have faded and fallen to the ground, these seed pods remain, (at least I assume that's what they are!) ready to start a new generation. All the tangled fibrous bits, like pieces of string, are quite interesting.

I tried photographing these over several days. I noticed in my early attempts I had left too much empty space and had the main stem placed statically horizontal across the frame, both of which lead to boring shots.

It was quite difficult conditions because of the wind and even in this shot there was some motion blur. I managed to recover enough sharpness in PS around the in-focus area, at least for posting online.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.