A wet bee

Dave left at the usual antisocial hour and after fossicking about for a while I went up to the allotment (remembering for once to go via East Coast Cured for a delicious salami and back via Twelve Triangles for a delicious khorasan loaf).

When I went to fill up the watering can from the water butt I noticed what I thought at first was a dead bee. It was floating on a fragment of hedge clipping but was totally soaked. Then I noticed it feebly flicking an antenna, so I hauled it out and laid it on the top of the compost bit to dry out a bit. By the time I snapped it its body had dried out a bit, but its wings were still sodden. I gave it some runner bean flowers to investigate and a small rock to hide under till the sun came out.

When I checked my b.p. this morning it was somewhat elevated - scarcely surprising, given the news. I found it quite soothing to watch  this from time to time.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.