Good, bad and worse

The day started well enough; the chillis on the windowsill plants are finally ripening (after sitting there in a green state for about a month) and my re-set of the thermostat on the immersion heater seemed to have worked. Went up to the allotment on the bike, and watered in the nematodes so that they can start their grisly task. Then on my way back down the hill front tyre went into a pothole (too numerous to remark in Edinburgh, and even a small one can accomodate the wheel of a Brompton), and I crashed off. Nothing broken except part of a front tooth chipped off and various abrasions. Two lovely gents in a nearby SGN van picked me up, mopped me down, and gave me (plus bike) a lift home. While the adrenaline rush was still helping I rang the dentist and the lovely Ross made room to see me straight away, so I hopped on a bus, bloody lip and all. He x-rayed the lip (no impacted gravel, and didn't need a stitch) and mended the tooth there and then. Then home to bath, tea, and Ibuprofen.

And then I read the news......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.