A misnomer

I walked to work this morning in the expectation that my bike would be released from Bicycle Hospital this afternoon. It was quite late without any notification when i rang to check, and yes it was all set to go. Walked up to collect it (and then ride home).

My route took me along Seafield View Road, a narrow street with many Victorian era houses, along with Medical School and University buildings scattered along its length. One very big and very new building (not yet finished inside) is quite attractive and a big change from the Brutalist architecture of the main Medical School buildings.

Tucked away in the middle of all this is a 1930s house (my guess), which has been named Seaview. Perhaps there might have been a rather distant view of the Waitemata Harbour before the Auckland Hospital buildings were built, although I think that they would have intervened some decades before this house was built, unless I have its lineage wrong.

Certainly, now there are massive buildings obscuring any view at all for this unassuming wee building, not the least the new university building mentioned above. Even the street name suggests that way back when, the view was of fields rather than the sea.

The bike runs well again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.